A POEM

Everybody Do Your Part

A poem about a bare minimum of societal expectation.

Dash MacIntyre
1 min readOct 12, 2022

--

Photo by Lerone Pieters via Pexels

I was somewhere in Harlem in the one-hundred-forties

waiting for the white walker sign to let me cross

when I was grabbed by the arm

and found a head nestling into my shoulder and neck

and I pulled out an ear bud

and heard the aggressive heckling

of licentious things about her body

and she looked back and told him

“my boyfriend will beat your ass”

so I stood up a little taller and looked back

and pointed at him with my finger

and he stopped and walked back the other way

muttering about women these days

and as we crossed the street

she made sure he was gone

and she took a left

and I continued on.

Check out my book “Satire In The Trump Years: The Best Of The Halfway Post” available on Barnes & Noble and Amazon!

Follow my daily Dada news here on Twitter @HalfwayPost, and follow me on Medium for more of my comedy.

Check out my comedy portfolio!

--

--

Dash MacIntyre

Comedian, political satirist, and poet. Created The Halfway Post. Check out my comedy book Satire In The Trump Years, and my poetry book Cabaret No Stare.