Hemisphere Strangers: An American In China

Seven poems about visiting Yiwu, Longjing, and Hangzhou.

Dash MacIntyre
5 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Photo by kit sanchez on Unsplash

The Vacation

muddy raccoon paw prints are on my luggage

stashed in my enclosed corner

of the apartment building’s basement.

I hope they enjoyed their trip

and I admire their sneakiness with my bags

having brought them back before I noticed they were gone.

Eating In Yiwu China

I look for a restaurant with english

and if I can’t find one I look for at least menu pictures on the wall

until I find one with price numbers printed in the corners

and then walk in and point on the wall

give the money and see what comes out.

Hemisphere Strangers

on the top of leifeng pagoda up seven flights of stairs

an old chinese man looking half mummified already

huffs his way to the top using his cane each step

and arrives finally at the top

and through the doorway to the view of west lake

--

--

Dash MacIntyre

Comedian, political satirist, and poet. Created The Halfway Post. Check out my comedy book Satire In The Trump Years, and my poetry book Cabaret No Stare.